Thoughts from #openmobile

So I was at the Open Mobile Summit last week, courtesy of WOMWorldNokia and Nokia. Now I’m under no illusions, people don’t regularly read my blog, eager for the latest mobile news etc. So writing too much on this is a waste of my time – people come here because they want to know how to solve problems and do cool things. But thought I’d jot down a few thoughts from the notes I took, things that stood out for me.

Nokia N8 – there were a couple of protos about – looks like a nice device. Everything the N97 should’ve been maybe? Will it be too little too late, with a new iPhone round the corner? Well, I expect it to be a lot cheaper, and from what I saw, it’s also looking a lot better than I think everyone expects. As good as the promo videos if not better. Can’t wait to try out the camera on one tho, this should be the selling point but it’s not being shouted about?

Femto cells – networks are sweating over where all the data bandwidth will come from to feed all these smartphones. The short term bet? Move base stations closer to users – think your router will also be a base station. Thing is, how happy to share will the networks be? I don’t want two femto cells in my home cos me and the GF are on different networks.

4G – it’s fast. great. Also expensive – not so great. Also selling it at “4G” not LTE. Right, so how are you going to sell the “unlucky network” in Asia?

People speak on phones? not anymore apparently, voice only mentioned once, in passing, by Andrew Gilbert of Quallcomm.

iPads – I think every single speaker mentioned them. But no one knew quite what they’re for?

Money – big issues, who’s paying for all this bandwidth, who’s supporting the 1000’s of app devs? Is the bubble going to burst? Is ad supported the way forward?

Nokia – going for the (massive) mass market in developing countries it seems. Big business.

Alberto Torres – EVP meego, had a chance to chat with him which was great. Seems a good guy, but then his PhD’s in computer science, so he would be ;-) Meego device announced this year, and they’ll be pushing the high end with it. Looking forward to seeing what’s coming here. I think high end mobile has the potential to get really exciting real soon now. But I’ll not write about that, as no-one’s really reading this, right? ;-)

Chopsticks – seems like Nokia bloggers don’t know how to use these, remedied that situation ;-)

Kindle screen costs more than the iPads – interesting. As soon as decent screens get cheaper (i.e. some eInk competition) expect cheaper e-readers. I like reading, this can only be a good thing. And apparently the iPad won’t kill e-readers.

Finally, apparently I’m taller than expected. Heard that from three different people who’d all seen the #N900copter video.

Once again, thanks to WOMWorld for the chance to attend OMS. It was a lot more interesting than I expected, and I had a lot of great discussions with all sorts of people.

2 Responses to “Thoughts from #openmobile”

  1. […] has allowed his thoughts to settle following the Open Mobile Summit last week and shares them on his Do It Different […]

  2. Christian Says:

    “I think high end mobile has the potential to get really exciting real soon now. But I’ll not write about that, as no-one’s really reading this, right? ;-)”

    1. I’m really reading this !
    2. So what do you mean? “really exciting”? “real soon now”? “;)”?

Leave a Reply

